SHAC (School Health Advisory Council)

SHAC logo

5K Walk

health fair

SHAC Its time

What is the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC)?

Texas law (Texas Education Code, Title 2, Subtitle F, Chapter 28, Subchapter A, §28.004) requires the establishment of a SHAC for every school district. A School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) is a group appointed by the school board to serve at the District level to represent the community. Members of the SHAC represent different interests of the community and the school district, but the majority of members must be parents who are not employed by the District. SHACs are required to meet at least four times each year. 

 


VISION STATEMENT


All La Feria ISD students will reach their full personal, health, and academic potential.

MISSION STATEMENT

The mission of La Feria ISD SHAC is to ensure that all children in La Feria ISD, grades PreK-12, will have healthy bodies and minds through sequential health education, practices, and modeling of good healthy behaviors.

GOAL

The goal of the La Feria ISD SHAC is to advise La Feria ISD decision-makers regarding students' needs and assets related to health knowledge and skills, regarding policies and procedures that impact student health, and regarding the health of the school environment.  See Texas Education Code 28.004 for specific objectives and duties assigned.  Texas Law (Texas Educatin Code, Title 2, Subtitle F, Chapter 28, Subchapter A, ~28.004)

SHAC Meetings/Agendas & Minutes
SHAC Meeting Dates 2019-2020
February Agenda
January Agenda
December Agenda



School Health Advisory Council Meeting Minutes
December
January 
February



SHAC Membership
Membership


School Health Advisory Council Bylaws
SHAC Bylaws


FitnessGram


School Wellness Policies
School Wellness Policy FFA (LEGAL)
School Wellness Policy (LOCAL)

S.H.A.C. COMPONENTS
Contact Information:


Counseling & Mental Health Health Services
Haydee Rodriguez, Director of Guidance & Counseling
956-797-8360
Haydee.Rodriguez@laferiaisd.org

Annayancy Rodriguez, Licensed Specialist in School Psychologist
Annayancy.Rodriguez@laferiaisd.org

Health Education / Physical Education
Graciela Campos, Girls Athletic Coordinator
Graciela.Campos@laferiaisd.org

Nutrition Services
Cynthia Casas, Food Services Director
Cynthia.Casas@laferiaisd.org

Family and Community Engagement

Ida Prado, F.A.C.E. Coordinator
Ida.Prado@laferiaisd.org

Safe and Healthy School Environment
Carlos Verduzco, La Feria Academy Principal
Carlos.Verduzco@laferiaisd.org

School Health Services / School Employee Wellness
Sarah Saldivar, Nurse Coordinator
Sarah.Saldivar@laferiaisd.org