SHAC (School Health Advisory Council)

SHAC logo


What is the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC)?

Texas law (Texas Education Code, Title 2, Subtitle F, Chapter 28, Subchapter A, §28.004) requires the establishment of a SHAC for every school district. A School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) is a group appointed by the school board to serve at the District level to represent the community. Members of the SHAC represent different interests of the community and the school district, but the majority of members must be parents who are not employed by the District. SHACs are required to meet at least four times each year. 

 


VISION STATEMENT


All La Feria ISD students will reach their full personal, health, and academic potential.

MISSION STATEMENT

The mission of La Feria ISD SHAC is to ensure that all children in La Feria ISD, grades PreK-12, will have healthy bodies and minds through sequential health education, practices, and modeling of good healthy behaviors.

GOAL

The goal of the La Feria ISD SHAC is to advise La Feria ISD decision-makers regarding students' needs and assets related to health knowledge and skills, regarding policies and procedures that impact student health, and regarding the health of the school environment.  See Texas Education Code 28.004 for specific objectives and duties assigned.  Texas Law (Texas Educatin Code, Title 2, Subtitle F, Chapter 28, Subchapter A, ~28.004)

Calendar
October 2021
 

SHAC Meetings/Agendas & Minutes
April 14, 2022
February 3, 2022
December 2, 2021
October 7, 2021

School Health Advisory Council Meeting Minutes

SHAC Powerpoint

SHAC Membership
Membership

School Health Advisory Council Bylaws
SHAC Bylaws

FitnessGram

School Wellness Policies
School Wellness Policy FFA (LEGAL)
School Wellness Policy (LOCAL)

S.H.A.C. COMPONENTS
Contact Information:


Counseling & Mental Health Health Services
Haydee Rodriguez, Director of Guidance & Counseling
956-797-8360

Haydee.Rodriguez@laferiaisd.org

Claribel Leal, Licensed Specialist in School Psychologist
Claribel. Leal@laferiaisd.org

Health Education / Physical Education
Graciela Campos, Girls Athletic Coordinator
Graciela.Campos@laferiaisd.org

Nutrition Services
Cynthia Casas, Food Services Director
Cynthia.Casas@laferiaisd.org

Family and Community Engagement

Lorraine Garza, F.A.C.E. Coordinator
Lorraine.Garza@laferiaisd.org

Safe and Healthy School Environment
Carlos Verduzco, La Feria Academy Principal
Carlos.Verduzco@laferiaisd.org

School Health Services / School Employee Wellness
Sarah Saldivar, Nurse Coordinator
Sarah.Saldivar@laferiaisd.org








Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.